Ex Embers

I’m not sure quite when I began

To fall out of love with you.

Was it when you shattered my heart

Thrice, only to beg for me to

Let you place the pieces back into alignment?

Was it feeling your warmth depart

When my words rung true

After expressing to you my utter commitment?

Was it when your embrace

Ceased to carry passion, comfort, unity?

Was it the disgrace

You felt when you witnessed my insecurity?

Or was it when you whispered

Three words that were merely lies

When you extinguished the last ember

Burning for you in my eyes?

freshpaint-0-2016-09-27-11-52-32

Author: Kalia Attal

I am an aspiring investigative journalist with a single dream: to save the world. It may seem impossible, but I believe knowledge promotes tolerance, and tolerance breeds empathy, kindness, and compassion. Love is the cure for Earth's cancer.

Leave a Reply

