Two Years

Two years ago today

our breaths intermingled in the snow

Vapour escaping our mouths

All of you, I wanted to know.

Your smile reflected

Against the winter sun

Warm and captivating

I thought you were the one.

We laughed as

Our warm bodies intertwined

such anticipation

I wanted to make you mine.

Our hearts yet unscathed

by imminent tragedy

We devoured one other

But you took all of me.

My cravings for you were insatiable

You infiltrated my brain

Escaping from you was impossible

Thus commenced the pain.

Two years ago today

Our souls broke the ice

But on this cold November night

Our love paid the price.

 

 

 

Author: Kalia Attal

I am an aspiring investigative journalist with a single dream: to save the world. It may seem impossible, but I believe knowledge promotes tolerance, and tolerance breeds empathy, kindness, and compassion. Love is the cure for Earth's cancer.

Leave a Reply

