Asphyxiation

Some nights
I just want to stop breathing
For a little while,
And forget everything:
The heartbreak
violence, oppression,
Misguided intolerance.
25 years young
Still writing love songs
But they fall on deaf ears.
Is anyone even listening?
It seems I've been walking
Down this path of tears
For eternity.
No one can find me,
Hiding in my insecurities,
Gasping from asphyxiation.
Here, there is no oxygen;
Just the scent
Of death's temptation.
Author: Kalia Attal

I am an aspiring investigative journalist with a single dream: to save the world. It may seem impossible, but I believe knowledge promotes tolerance, and tolerance breeds empathy, kindness, and compassion. Love is the cure for Earth's cancer.

Leave a Reply

